Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-59664

Agent config GUI shows Known Hosts file when no strategy set

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Priority: Minor
    • Resolution: Not A Defect
    • Component/s: ssh-slaves-plugin
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:
      Linux (CentOS 7.2)
      Jenkins core 2.164.2
      ssh-slaves-plugin 1.30.0
    • Similar Issues:

      Description

      An agent that was created with a version of ssh-slaves-plugin that did not have the sshHostKeyVerificationStrategy will have no such entry in its config.xml.  When this Agent is inspected in the Configuration GUI, it shows KnownHostsFileKeyVerificationStrategy in the dropdown.  This is misleading, in that it appears the Agent is configured differently than it is.

        Attachments

          Activity

          Hide
          ifernandezcalvo Ivan Fernandez Calvo added a comment - - edited

          it would affect really older versions of ssh-slaves (1.13 Dec 2017), It was a design decision to use Known Host file (/home/username/.ssh/known_hosts) as a default strategy on migrated agents from versions before 1.13

          Show
          ifernandezcalvo Ivan Fernandez Calvo added a comment - - edited it would affect really older versions of ssh-slaves (1.13 Dec 2017), It was a design decision to use Known Host file (/home/username/.ssh/known_hosts) as a default strategy on migrated agents from versions before 1.13
          Hide
          lizzardo Steven Wadsworth added a comment -

          I understand that it's the default, but if it is not set and the configuration is inspected, it shows as Known Hosts but it really isn't.  A concrete example:

          I looked at a server I didn't set up but needed to add a node.  I got a warning that not all nodes used Known Hosts so looked at the one I needed to use as a template.  It said that it used that strategy but it wan't.  

          When  a new node is added I agree that it should be the default, but when looking at an older configuration the UI should display what the actual settings currently are.

          Show
          lizzardo Steven Wadsworth added a comment - I understand that it's the default, but if it is not set and the configuration is inspected, it shows as Known Hosts but it really isn't.  A concrete example: I looked at a server I didn't set up but needed to add a node.  I got a warning that not all nodes used Known Hosts so looked at the one I needed to use as a template.  It said that it used that strategy but it wan't.   When  a new node is added I agree that it should be the default, but when looking at an older configuration the UI should display what the actual settings currently are.

            People

            • Assignee:
              ifernandezcalvo Ivan Fernandez Calvo
              Reporter:
              lizzardo Steven Wadsworth
            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              2 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: