Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-7284

Allow promoted builds to optionally not be kept forever

    Details

    • Similar Issues:

      Description

      The Promoted Builds Simple Plugin fills a need for us very well. But, we don't usually need to keep these builds forever in the general case. But this plugin always sets the build to be kept forever.

      Could there be a checkbox in the configuration to not mark promoted builds to be kept forever as part of the promotion? For my purposes, one checkbox that would apply to all levels is fine, but perhaps having it for each level is more appropiate.

        Attachments

          Activity

          oeuftete oeuftete created issue -
          mindless Alan Harder made changes -
          Field Original Value New Value
          Status Open [ 1 ] In Progress [ 3 ]
          Hide
          mindless Alan Harder added a comment -

          I have this just about done.. I went with the per-level setting, as it makes sense to me that some lower levels you may not want to mark as keep, but probably a release build you would.

          Here's my question though: say you demote a build.. should it automatically remove the "keep forever"?
          2 cases: a build is currently at a promotion level that does auto-keep, and (a) you demote it to a level that does not auto-keep, or (b) you remove any promotion level. I'm thinking (b) is pretty likely you'd want to remove the "keep forever", as likely you're moving the promotion to a different build.. not sure about (a). Or, I could never remove "keep forever" to be safe... what do you think?

          Show
          mindless Alan Harder added a comment - I have this just about done.. I went with the per-level setting, as it makes sense to me that some lower levels you may not want to mark as keep, but probably a release build you would. Here's my question though: say you demote a build.. should it automatically remove the "keep forever"? 2 cases: a build is currently at a promotion level that does auto-keep, and (a) you demote it to a level that does not auto-keep, or (b) you remove any promotion level. I'm thinking (b) is pretty likely you'd want to remove the "keep forever", as likely you're moving the promotion to a different build.. not sure about (a). Or, I could never remove "keep forever" to be safe... what do you think?
          mindless Alan Harder made changes -
          Status In Progress [ 3 ] Resolved [ 5 ]
          Resolution Fixed [ 1 ]
          rtyler R. Tyler Croy made changes -
          Workflow JNJira [ 137383 ] JNJira + In-Review [ 187478 ]

            People

            • Assignee:
              mindless Alan Harder
              Reporter:
              oeuftete oeuftete
            • Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              0 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: