Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-14303

Config changes are logged even when job saved with no changes

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Similar Issues:

      Description

      Wasn't sure whether this was a bug or by design, but would it not make more sense to only log changes when the config files has actually been altered (as opposed to simply saved)?

      Not such a large concern when all changes are made by people, but when using a plugin that alters config.xml programmatically, lots of noise can accumulate in the change log. In particular, the build description setter plugin saves the job configs on each run.

      Thanks!

        Attachments

          Activity

          Hide
          mfriedenhagen Mirko Friedenhagen added a comment -

          I think we had a good reason but I do not remember it anymore :-D

          Show
          mfriedenhagen Mirko Friedenhagen added a comment - I think we had a good reason but I do not remember it anymore :-D
          Hide
          stefanbrausch Stefan Brausch added a comment -

          You should configure the plugin that it not save duplicate configuration files.
          This could help you.

          Description: Do not save the history if there is no change from the previous saved configuration. Duplicate history is often saved if the save option is selected after viewing a configuration without making any adjustments.
          It is also common for system-level settings, as all system settings are saved again when the main configuration page is saved.

          Show
          stefanbrausch Stefan Brausch added a comment - You should configure the plugin that it not save duplicate configuration files. This could help you. Description: Do not save the history if there is no change from the previous saved configuration. Duplicate history is often saved if the save option is selected after viewing a configuration without making any adjustments. It is also common for system-level settings, as all system settings are saved again when the main configuration page is saved.
          Hide
          marc_guenther Marc Günther added a comment -

          Why isn't that setting enabled by default? Why would we ever want to save duplicate history configs?

          Show
          marc_guenther Marc Günther added a comment - Why isn't that setting enabled by default? Why would we ever want to save duplicate history configs?
          Hide
          kstutz Kathi Stutz added a comment -

          "Skip duplicate history" will be enabled by default in the next version of the plugin (2.3), which will be released sometime in February.

          Show
          kstutz Kathi Stutz added a comment - "Skip duplicate history" will be enabled by default in the next version of the plugin (2.3), which will be released sometime in February.
          Hide
          kstutz Kathi Stutz added a comment -

          Version 2.3 has been relased two days ago.

          Show
          kstutz Kathi Stutz added a comment - Version 2.3 has been relased two days ago.

            People

            • Assignee:
              stefanbrausch Stefan Brausch
              Reporter:
              patcon Patrick Connolly
            • Votes:
              1 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              6 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              • Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: