Uploaded image for project: 'Jenkins'
  1. Jenkins
  2. JENKINS-3966

Add option to clean workspace before each build

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Improvement
    • Status: Resolved (View Workflow)
    • Priority: Major
    • Resolution: Won't Fix
    • Component/s: core
    • Labels:
      None
    • Environment:
      Platform: All, OS: All
    • Similar Issues:

      Description

      If this option is selected the workspace will be deleted before each build
      begins so that each build can have a fresh workspace. This will be off by default.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

            Hide
            jlpinardon jlpinardon added a comment -

            It would be a user friendly enhancement to add the ability to select a list (possibly based on pattern) of directory to wipe out (or not).

            Show
            jlpinardon jlpinardon added a comment - It would be a user friendly enhancement to add the ability to select a list (possibly based on pattern) of directory to wipe out (or not).
            Hide
            johnstosh John Muczynski added a comment -

            (I've been wiping out specific directories by adding ant tasks into the my jobs.)

            Hey guys, thanks for enhancing this section of Jenkins. The clean selections in Jenkins 1.414 work great for me: both the delete-workspace and the other varieties of cleaning.

            Show
            johnstosh John Muczynski added a comment - (I've been wiping out specific directories by adding ant tasks into the my jobs.) Hey guys, thanks for enhancing this section of Jenkins. The clean selections in Jenkins 1.414 work great for me: both the delete-workspace and the other varieties of cleaning.
            Hide
            ganncamp G. Ann Campbell added a comment -

            I think this issue has been addressed by this new-ish plugin https://wiki.jenkins-ci.org/display/JENKINS/Workspace+Cleanup+Plugin

            Show
            ganncamp G. Ann Campbell added a comment - I think this issue has been addressed by this new-ish plugin https://wiki.jenkins-ci.org/display/JENKINS/Workspace+Cleanup+Plugin
            Hide
            jglick Jesse Glick added a comment -

            Workspace Cleanup Plugin would delete the entire workspace. For most purposes you would rather just delete unversioned files (typically build products), as well as reverting any local modifications to versioned files, since a full checkout/clone/etc. is likely to be a lot more expensive than an incremental update.

            Show
            jglick Jesse Glick added a comment - Workspace Cleanup Plugin would delete the entire workspace. For most purposes you would rather just delete unversioned files (typically build products), as well as reverting any local modifications to versioned files, since a full checkout/clone/etc. is likely to be a lot more expensive than an incremental update.
            Hide
            jglick Jesse Glick added a comment -

            The mentioned plugin should be used; or many SCM plugins now offer the option of deleting unversioned files.

            Show
            jglick Jesse Glick added a comment - The mentioned plugin should be used; or many SCM plugins now offer the option of deleting unversioned files.

              People

              • Assignee:
                kaxelson kaxelson
                Reporter:
                kaxelson kaxelson
              • Votes:
                19 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                21 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved: